Teams Enjoy Banquet Before National Tournament Play Begins on Tuesday

Teams Enjoy Banquet Before National Tournament Play Begins on Tuesday

The teams and players who will compete over 72 holes for the NJCAA Men's Division National Championship in golf beginning Tuesday enjoyed a relaxed evening on Monday.


The pre-tournament banquet at the Holiday Inn in Viera featured presentation of Golf Coaches Association of America All-District and All-America awards and other recognition. Things get serious beginning at 7:30 a.m. Tuesday at nearby Duran Golf Club.


Highlights on Monday included NJCAA Hall of Fame recognition going to Bridgestone Golf's Todd Corum and McLennan Community College head coach Vince Clark; and Indian Hills Community College golfer Trevor Ullestad who received the Jimmy Russell Award for the top student-athlete.


Also recognized were finalists for the Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips. The Williams Award honors the national coach of the year in NJCAA Division I men's golf.

The six finalists are last year's winner Jamie Howell of Eastern Florida State College, Rob Murray of Indian Hills CC, Delnor Poss of Midland College, Pima College's Clark Rustand, Derrick Thompson of Iowa Western CC, and Dan York of Wallace State CC. If a team wins the NJCAA Championship and its coach was not previously named a finalist for the Dave Williams Award that coach will be added for coach of the year consideration.

The PING All-America first team was Alister Balcombe of Iowa Western CC, Indian Hills CC's Jackson Bugdalski, Midland College's Stefan Cronje, Sylas Elliott of Wallace State CC and David Rauer of Pima CC.

Second team selections are Odessa College's Adam Blomme, Bradley Hill of McCook College, Darton State College's Finlay Mason, Eastern Florida State College's Kerry Sweeney – a first-team selection in 2015, and Ullestad of Indian Hills CC.

Jakub Bares of Indian Hills CC, Eastern Arizona College's Ryan Cahill, Elliott Fullalove of Western Texas College, Odessa College's Augustin Hole, and Eli Marty of Wallace State CC were named to the honorable mention team.

The individual medalist at this week's National Championship also will be named to the first team if not already a part of the team. A top-5 finisher at this week's championship will be administratively added to the honorable mention team if not already a part of the All-America Team.

The All-District teams were:

 District 1
Colwyn Abgrell, Scottsdale Community College
Nicholas Barney, Eastern Arizona College
Ryan Cahill, Eastern Arizona College
Will Dennis, Pima Community College
Tristen Gonder, Scottsdale Community College
Logan Harrison, Eastern Wyoming College
Bradley Hill, McCook Community College
David Rauer, Pima Community College
Ryder Velasquez, Eastern Wyoming College
Frankie Wu, Pima Community College

District 2
Adam Blomme, Odessa College
Jordan Brown, Paris Junior College
Stefan Cronje, Midland College
Drew Dewald, McLennan Community College
Elliott Fullalove, Western Texas College
Augustin Hole, Odessa College
Ryan Johnson, McLennan Community College
Lucas McCubbin, Midland College
Blake Stock, McLennan Community College
Van Thomas, Odessa College

District 3
Alister Balcombe, Iowa Western Community College
Jakub Bares, Indian Hills Community College
Jackson Bugdalski, Indiana Hills Community College
Kantapong Chaisiriwichian, Dodge City Community College
Thirawat Chantrakantaond, Dodge City Community College
Chase Coble, Hutchinson Community College
Lewis Schenk, Hutchinson Community College
Witchayapat Sinsrang, Dodge City Community College
Natchapol Srinoon, Barton Community College
Trevor Ullestad, Indian Hills Community College

District 4
Brad Bawden, Eastern Florida State College
Sylas Elliott, Wallace State Community College
Trey Hanvey, Wallace State Community College
Corey Herman, Eastern Florida State College
Eli Marty, Wallace State Community College
Finlay Mason, Darton State College
Josh Robertson, Darton State College
Kerry Sweeney, Eastern Florida State College
Steven Wysocki, Central Alabama Community College
Hunter York, John A. Logan College

The All-Freshman team is: Jakub Bares, Indian Hills Community College
Adam Blomme, Odessa College
Jackson Bugdalski, Indian Hills Community College
Stefan Cronje, Midland College
Finlay Mason, Darton State College

The banquet's keynote speaker was Brevard County Judge Ali Majeed.

Spectators are welcome to attend the tournament at Duran, which runs through Friday. Play from holes nine and 18 will be webcast at

Live scoring will be available at

Representing Eastern Florida will be sophomores Sweeney, who tied for second at the district tournament on April 26, Corey Herman, Michael Keymont and freshmen Bradley Bawden and Tyler Bennett.

On Tuesday and Wednesday Eastern Florida will be paired in a threesome with Midland College of Texas and defending national champion Indian Hills Community College of Iowa for the first two rounds. They are two teams Howell believes will be among the Titans toughest competition.

NEWS MEDIA CONTACT: Mark DeCotis, Manager, Athletic Communications

Office: 321-433-5700   Cell: 321-759-4540   Email: